Aberdeen Sinfonietta - Leader Bryan Dargie

Aberdeen Sinfonietta was founded in 1987, originally as a small group of strings and harpsichord. In 1997, at a time when the group was beginning to feel the need to expand its musical repertoire, they were given the exciting opportunity to expand considerably in order to perform as a chamber orchestra in the Music Hall with Roger Williams as conductor, and with the brilliant Russian pianist Mikhail Kazakevich as soloist. Since then, Aberdeen Sinfonietta has established itself as one of the foremost contributors to music-making in the north-east.

With regular orchestral concerts in Aberdeen's Music Hall, often with internationally recognised soloists and conductors, the Sinfonietta also works with prominent choral societies. Involving itself in a wide range of musical activities, the group endeavours to bring a great variety of high calibre musical events to an ever-widening audience.



Bryan Dargie (Leader)
Sarah Beattie
Teresa Boag
Richard Clark
Ryen Crabb
Guera Crockett
Alexandra Grant
Andy Leadbetter
Rachel Mackison
Jenna Main
Clara Jane Maunder
Aden Mazur
David Murray
Jennifer Piggott
Coralie Usmani


Sandra Thomson
Ewa Bartmann
Megan Cormack
Yendy De Adbreu
Iona Hassan
Robert Milne


Alison MacDonald
Louise Cooper
Hilary Cromar
Mary Dargie
Sarah Matthews

Double Bass

Scott Mathieson
Callum Young


Margaret Preston
Kathryn Gammie

Oboe/Oboe d’Amore

Geoffrey Bridge
Fiona Gordon


Jo Price


Kate Friday
Hannah Hilton

French Horn

Rachel Brady


Alan Haggart
Gerry Dawson
Kevin Haggart


Isabel John


David Gerrard (Organ)
Alison MacDonald (Cello)


Alan Haggart on the challenges facing the principal trumpet player in the Bach B Minor Mass