Aberdeen Sinfonietta - Leader Bryan Dargie

Aberdeen Sinfonietta was founded in 1987, originally as a small group of strings and harpsichord. In 1997, at a time when the group was beginning to feel the need to expand its musical repertoire, they were given the exciting opportunity to expand considerably in order to perform as a chamber orchestra in the Music Hall with Roger Williams as conductor, and with the brilliant Russian pianist Mikhail Kazakevich as soloist. Since then Aberdeen Sinfonietta has established itself as one of the foremost contributors to music-making in the north-east.

With regular orchestral concerts in Aberdeen’s Music Hall, often with internationally recognised soloists and conductors, Aberdeen Sinfonietta also works with prominent choral and operatic societies. Involving itself in a wide range of musical activities, the group endeavours to bring a great variety of high calibre musical events to an ever-widening audience.

Following the concert with Aberdeen Bach Choir in St Machar’s Cathedral on Sunday 30 May 2023, Aberdeen Sinfonietta welcomes to Aberdeen Music Hall on Sunday 14 May as guest conductor New Zealand born Holly Mathieson, who is based in Scotland and is currently Music Director of Symphony Nova Scotia in Halifax, Canada. The orchestra also looks forward to having as soloist in Weber’s clarinet concerto the brilliant young Greek clarinettist Dionysis Grammenos, described as 'one of the most promising stars of tomorrow', and whose awards include the Grand Prix d’Eurovision from the European Broadcasting Union.


Bryan Dargie (Leader)
Sarah Beattie
Teresa Boag
Richard Clark
Guera Crockett
Rachel Mackison
Jenna Main
David Murray
Nataliia Naismith
Coralie Usmani


Sandra Thomson
Ewa Bartmann
Vanessa Turner


Alison MacDonald
Hilary Cromar
Martin Couzin
Mary Dargie
Scott Matheson


David Gerrard (Organ/Harpsichord)
Alison MacDonald (Cello)


Margaret Preston
Kathryn Gammie

Oboe/Oboe d’Amore

Geoffrey Bridge
Fiona Gordon


Ailsa Matheson
Sarah Gove


Kate Friday
Hannah Hilton


Robert Martin
Kevin Cormack


Alan Haggart
Kevin Haggart
Paul Brill


Isabel John