Aberdeen Sinfonietta

(Patron: Lady Grant of Monymusk)

Now in its 25th anniversary year, Aberdeen Sinfonietta was formed originally as a small ensemble which played regularly in Aberdeen and also toured throughout Scotland. Since then it has substantially increased its membership in order to extend its musical repertoire and to give many of the area’s professional and outstanding amateur musicians the opportunity to perform in its concerts. Aberdeen Sinfonietta has established itself as one of the foremost contributors to music-making in this part of Scotland, and it now has its own annual series of three concerts in Aberdeen’s Music Hall. The final concert of this season takes place on Sunday 27 May, when the orchestra will be conducted by Garry Walker, and the programme includes music by Brahms and Saint-Saëns, as well as Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, with the young Scottish guitarist Ian Watt as soloist.


Bryan Dargie (Leader, Orchestra 1))

Teresa Boag

Vicky Fifield

Jean Fletcher

Ruth Kalitski

Ewing Lauder

Rachel Mackison

Jenna Main

Guera Maunder

Robert Torrance

Dirk Van Loon

Michaela Wiedermann


Julian Marx

Richard Clark

Shelagh Reid

Nathalie Vanballenberghe


Gareth John (Continuo)

Hilary Cromar

Bill Linklater

Alison MacDonald

Double bass

Sarah Neil

Ray Leonard


Margaret Preston

Rachel Gill

Angela Bradley-Craig

Christine Cheyne

Oboe/oboe d’amore

Geoffrey Bridge

Fiona Gordon

Oboe/cor anglais

Sarah Cruickshank

Laura Young


Chris Monks


Drew Tulloch