Aberdeen Sinfonietta (Patron: Lady Grant of Monymusk)

Aberdeen Sinfonietta was formed originally as a small ensemble which played regularly in Aberdeen and also toured throughout Scotland. In 1997, at a time when the group was beginning to feel the need to extend its musical repertoire, it was given the exciting opportunity to expand considerably in order to perform as a chamber orchestra in the Music Hall with the brilliant Russian pianist Mikhail Kazakevich. Since then the orchestra has given regular concerts in the Music Hall, and now has its own 3-concert series. The third concert of this year's series takes place on Sunday 29 May 2011, when the orchestra, under conductor Garry Walker, will accompany Alec Frank-Gemmill in a performance of the First Horn Concerto by Richard Strauss. The concert also includes Mozart's "Prague" Symphony and Beethoven's Fourth Symphony.

Players March 2011

Violins: Bryan Dargie (leader)
Teresa Boag
Vicky Fifield
Jean Fletcher
Ruth Kalitski
Andy Leadbetter
Rachel Mackison
Guera Maunder
Janet Thomson
Dirk Van Loon

Michaela Wiedermann

Violas: Julian Marx
Richard Clark
Ian McLennan

Vanessa Turner

Cellos: Alison MacDonald
Hilary Cromar
Mary Dargie

Bill Linklater

Double bass:

Ray Leonard



Flutes: Margaret Preston

Rachel Gill

Oboes/Oboes Katherine MacKintosh

Shaun Dillon


Tracey Brown


Lesley Wilson


Robert Martin

Trumpets: Jennifer Gourlay
Gerry Dawson

Alan Haggart


Isabel John

Percussion: Chris Overton

Geoff Jones


Alina Bzhezhinska

Organ: Drew Tulloch